top of page

Writers Inspiring Change feature book review: Winter's Captive: The Georgia Series - Book 1

Updated: Mar 20, 2023

Winter's Captive: The Georgia Series - Book 1, by June V. Bourgo, is the first in a series about a woman named Georgia, who is pregnant and who finds herself faced by a cheating husband. She decides to leave and stay with a friend in the Yukon. Bad goes to worse when she is kidnapped and then escapes into the wild frontier of British Columbia where she faces the brutality of survival against the elements for herself and her unborn child. As the story unfolds it is both intense and full of danger, with never a dull moment as Georgia endures an incredible journey. During this time she finds out who she really is and is tested

to her limits. A great read, and one which holds you captive.

Review by International Writers Inspiring Change

About June Bourgo

June V. Bourgo was born and educated in Montreal, Quebec. She and her artist/writer husband, Dennis live on Vancouver Island. The island sits off the western coast of British Columbia. Between them, they have three adult children and nine grandchildren. June’s writing is inspired by the natural beauty of the landscape and the Salish Sea that surround her home.

Her writing began with magazine articles for a single-parenting magazine, and writing historical copy. Her love of novel writing grew from there. As a Creativia/Next Chapter Publishing Author, her debut novel, Winter’s Captive, Book 1 of The Georgia Series is inspired loosely by her survival and lessons learned from an abusive relationship. Chasing Georgia is Book 2 of the Georgia Series and Missing Thread, Book 3 of this series continues the journey of Georgia Charles This is a suspense/thriller family saga that inspires forgiveness, redemption, and women’s empowerment with a touch of Magical Realism. Magnolia Tree, Book 1 of The Crossing Trilogy was released in 2018 and Chameleon Games, Book 2 was released in July, 2019. Book 3 was released In August, 2021. Book 1 encompasses the disappearance of a mother and the search by her daughter to solve the mystery and continues throughout the trilogy with the aftermath of her search and how it affects various characters. Again, the author’s writing style follows a suspense/thriller adventure with a touch of the Supernatural.

6 views0 comments


bottom of page